Museum of the City of San Francisco
By Subject
By Year
The Gift Shop

San Francisco Fire Department
Scannell Medal Award

The Scannell Medal Fund was the bequest of David Scannell, a former Chief of Department, and was established to honor a member of the Fire Department who was most meritorious in the performance of his or her duty and for the bravest act performed in the saving of human life at the risk of his or her life.

The following members of the San Francisco Fire Department have been awarded the Scannell Medal since 1964:

Captain Andrew K. Benton
September 1, 1964

Firefighter William J. Azich
September 17, 1966

Lieutenant Joseph Baggetta
August 2, 1970

Lieutenant Sylvester J. Cotter
April 15, 1972

Firefighter Terry Millard
August 15, 1973

Captain Benton was posthumously awarded the Scannell Medal for heroic actions which cost him his life in the line of duty.

The Trustees of the Scannell Medal Fund have now awarded the medal to Firefighter Gerald R. Shannon of Truck Co. 9 for his heroic actions following the earthquake of October 17, 1989.

In his official report, Lieutenant Vincent J. Nolan wrote, "Firefighter Shannon's heroic disregard for his own well-being in order to courageously save another's life was well above and beyond the call of duty."

"These actions are truly worthy of merit in the highest tradition of the City of San Francisco and the San Francisco Fire Department."

Frederick F. Postel
Chief of Department

Meritorious Citations
Table of Contents

Return to top of page