1989 Earthquake Acknowledgements
Museum of the City of San Francisco
By Subject
By Year
The Gift Shop

The San Francisco Fire Department wishes to thank the following organizations and individuals for their assistance:

Mayor Art Agnos and his staff

San Francisco Police Chief Frank Jordan

Richard Evans, Director of the Department of Public Works

Louise Renne, City Attorney

Members of the Board of Supervisors of San Francisco, and all those who assisted in the efficient management of the Loma Prieta disaster.

Michael J. Frew

Richard O'Neal

Dennis Stempler, MD

Mel Newman

Michael Newman

Bill Ruck, Chief Engineer, KNBR Radio

Peter Childress

Greg Binder, Motorola, Inc.

Larry Peabody

David Salyer

Susan K. Stacks

Carl Breedlove, Red Cross

John Daly

William Forrest

John Carney

Tony Salvador, KNBR Radio

California Office of Emergency Services, Sacramento

Presidio of San Francisco Fire Department

California Highway Patrol

Cellular One

American Red Cross

Project Open Hand

Motorola, Inc.

Special thanks for their assistance in the preparation of this report to:

U.S. Army, Presidio of San Francisco

Assistant Chief Dennis M. Callahan

Assistant Chief Howard L. Slater

David Fowler

Michael Mustacchi, Fire Department Photographer

Firefighter George Nelson

Chief's Aide William F. Egan

Fire Inspector Milton Yuen

Fay Perlas, Administrative Secretary

And the many men and women in San Francisco who helped fight fires and aided in saving the lives of their fellow citizens.

Table of Contents
The Departments Response to the Oakland Fire

Return to top of page